Belly laughs

Only have a second but have to write a quick one to say: S is laughing. Big, deep, beautiful belly laughs that are definitely the most beautiful thing I’ve ever heard in my life. Yesterday we had a fantastic day with a couple of DH’s female work friends—brunch, walk, then dinner!—and S was so excited and stimulated that he stayed awake during a two-hour period when he is normally asleep. And he laughed. Oh, how he laughed. He loved the ladies. LOVED them. Cackled, grinned, flirted, eyes bright. This kid! He makes everyone around him melt and laugh and feel happy. He’s the best baby in the world. We lucked out so big. He couldn’t be more lovable, couldn’t be more off-the-charts cute.

He’s so alert. We get comments all the time about his eye contact, the intensity of his curiosity, his surprising attention span.

His legs are getting so strong. He loves to boing, boing, up down up down up down. He cracks up when we kiss his belly. He loves to kick, kick, kick. He now not only grabs things with his hands but also with his strong, determined legs and feet. We spend long sessions, S on my lap, just exploring our legs, feet, arms, and hands.

He likes to stick entire hands in his mouth—and then he gags and gets annoyed, like he doesn’t know what happened.

He is trying so diligently to talk. He loves participating in adult conversations, and he does so with adorable concentration, eyebrows knitted. His new favorite thing, as of yesterday, is to pucker his lips and go “Bbbuuuuhhhh.” Consonants! And still the long, sing-song-y vowel sounds, imitating me, the way I talk to him.

As of yesterday, he is able to entertain himself for about five to ten minutes under the activity gym without DH or I anywhere near him.

He is a happy boy. Ah, I can’t tell you what that means to me, his happiness. He is healthy, peach-cheeked, gaining weight like crazy, absolutely thriving. When I see all of this in him, I feel like I am seeing our love in him, the love we gave and give to him, at work.

Today is our first gym class. This kid wants to move! He’s getting so very physical. Tomorrow is our first yoga class. I’m also trying to decide when to take him to his first swim class. In the bath now, instead of sweetly jiggling and cooing, he is kick, kick, kicking, making that water splash. So much changes so quickly! My little fishie.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. California mom

     /  March 30, 2015

    😀

    Reply
  2. This is so adorable. I can’t wait for this!!!

    Reply
  3. Love!!! I’ve been day dreaming lately of our newest addition’s little laugh. This makes me all the more excited to hear it! XO

    Reply
  4. AWW he sounds adorable. I love happy babies!

    Reply

Leave a reply

