27 weeks: The headless bump

PhotoHere we are, all earth mama’ed out in an on-sale Indian number I think I may wear every day not only for the rest of this pregnancy, but for the rest of my life. Why would I ever wear anything else? Ahhh, the comfort…swoosh, swoosh, swish, swish…

After a great talk last night with a hypnobabies practitioner (who happens to be going through her own fertility struggle right now), and after discussing with DH, we have decided to go with the hypnobabies home advantage program. I bought the materials today! Sale is final, so we are most definitely in. The CDs and written materials should be arriving within the week. We do the 5-week program at home—listening to tracks, completing worksheets, reading booklets, practicing techniques—and during week 6, we go to the practitioner’s home for a 3-hour in-person class with her. There, we will get all of our questions answered, learn some post-partum stuff, and undergo a 1 1/2 hour birth rehearsal (that I’m very excited about).

We would have liked to have taken a group class, but there are none within a reasonable distance. I think DH is a little relieved that we can create our own schedule. I’m a little worried that I will let the home-study take over all of my time, but then again, this could be just what I need to create more structure in my days.

I’ll be writing more about the work as I learn more…

In other news, little starfish mister was extremely active yesterday, almost as if to reassure me just when I was feeling a tad bit wobbly. I happily recorded all of his movements (first time I did that) and realized I could feel him basically all day long. Today I haven’t felt as much, but enough. I serenade. I stroke and rub. I heart, hard.

This weekend we are taking the ferry to CT for the first time and going to a wedding in Chatham. We’ll be staying in Providence, at a quaint hotel, and then at a cottage, the night of the wedding, by the water. DH will be reading a Neruda poem at the wedding (he’s in high demand at wedding ceremonies, I tell you!).

The couple selected the poem…DH has always considered himself someone who doesn’t “get” poetry, so for the past few days, we’ve been discussing this one, and helping him experience its beauty. “Don’t fight the poem,” I advised. “Allow it to give you what it has to offer.” This really resonated with him. He wants to decode it, to understand exactly what each phrase means, and he gets blocked and frustrated easily. So he asks me what I hear, what I see. I tell him, and the poem opens up in a completely new way. “It’s intuitive for you, like music. It’s amazing to watch you experience it,” he said. “It’s like you’re entering a dream.”

This is why I love him.

I’ve also been coaching him in how to read it. His first tries were pretty mechanical, because he wasn’t feeling it. But now he sounds softer, more lost, more there, in Neruda’s moment.

You can find the poem here.

My favorite part:

I love you as the plant that doesn’t bloom but carries

the light of those flowers, hidden, within itself

 

 

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. You look wonderful! And that DOES look like one comfy outfit.

    Reply
  2. Looking good mama. :)

    Reply
  3. Looking forward to hearing more about your hypnobirthing journey. I’m totally interested in it.

    Reply
  4. My favorite Pablo, hands down… and what a cute dress! U look adorable!

    Reply
  5. Neruda <3 I'm teaching Ode to a Watermelon next week to see if I can get my 10th graders to examine how a poet packs power into language without "[torturing] a confession out of it," as Collins says. Also, you look incredibly beautiful!

    Reply
  6. Love the outfit, the bump, the swoosh swoosh! I look forward to learning more about this Hypnobabies program from you… I assume it’s related to hypnobirth, but to be honest I don’t really know what that means, either (but I’ve heard it). I love that Pablo Neruda poem, and it’s not at all overshadowed by the fact that it was read at my first wedding… it’s a thing of beauty. He is one sensual poet, that Pablo.

    Reply
  7. Elizabeth

     /  September 8, 2014

    You absolutely should spend the rest of your life in that outfit. Beautiful. Thank you posting that poem; never heard of Pablo Neruda. My favorite line, after 10 reads: I love you like this because I don’t know any other way to love.

    Glad the babe is moving around and that all is well.

    Reply

Leave a reply

