Novels, essays, movies, documentaries exploring boy-ness?

As you all are the best resource EVER, I am picking your brains again. Give me a shout if you have a good recommendation for me of a novel/essay/movie/documentary that explores boy-ness in some way. A friend recently recommended Black Swan Green, saying it was a wonderful exploration of the interior life of an adolescent boy, so I’m going to start reading that one tonight. I want to absorb all I can! So exciting!!!

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Raising Cain, and not the famous movie, the really incisive book about the emotional development of boys: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/0345434854/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?qid=1404143591&sr=8-1

    Reply
  2. Ria

     /  July 2, 2014

    I can’t recommend any books but, as a mom of 3 boys, I can tell you that by about 6 months or so…you will no longer have any knick knacks within reach and down the road, you quite possibly may find your son on the kitchen counter, top of the fridge, scaling walls etc. every time you turn your back:) Then they turn into big, stubbly men and give the best hugs in the world:)

    Congratulations! Although I’m long done having babies, I love reading your journey:)

    Reply
    • 3 boys! Wow! Thanks for the head’s up. (: I hung out with a little boy recently—he liked to blow things up, make things wreck into each other, and dance. Man, could that kid dance! And yes, anything within reach was fair game for smash-up games. Oh boy…
      thank you for the congrats!

      Reply
  3. Yay team blue! xx

    Reply
  4. I’ve heard good things about a book called “how do you tuck in a superhero” or “how to tuck in a superhero”. I haven’t read it yet but I want to.

    Reply

Leave a reply

