Baby can hear me! I want to hear him or her. Doppler recs?

First off, blood thinner fiasco solved, as I wrote about in a comment on my last post. I’m so glad that is over!  Your support, as always, humbles and warms me.

Tomorrow is the first day of Week 15, and many sources say that baby’s ears are formed and he or she can hear my voice! (Other sources say week 16, and still others, week 18. I’m going with now, because it feels right.)

I am reading an excellent book on Hynpobirthing—a post on this to come, because it is amazing—and it stresses the importance of not engaging in negative self-talk. Actually, my prenatal yoga instructor had stressed the same thing. So this morning when I dropped the millionth thing on the kitchen floor (I am clumsier than I have ever been, and I’m a trip-on-air kind of person),  instead of blurting out something negative, I took a deep breath and smiled and said something sweet to the baby. Already, this little lovebug is helping me be a better person.

But it has been approximately 8 billion years since my last ultrasound appointment, and I’m starting to feel rather anxious. I never thought I would get a home doppler, but I’m beginning to reconsider. Not just to put my mind at ease, but to strengthen the bond that is forming between us.

If you are an at-home fetal doppler mama, and you have any recommendations for the best brands I should check out, I am (like my baby right now) all ears. Thank you!

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Amy

     /  June 11, 2014

    My baby arrived early (25 weeks!) so I’m happy to mail you my doppler if you like.

    Reply
  2. I used the Angel Sounds fetal doppler & bought some gel off Amazon. The doppler was only around $25 or $30, and I used less than one little tube of the gel. It worked great for me! I used the doppler a couple of times a week until I started to feel her move on a regular basis, and then just on occasion, if she was being quiet and I was panicking. I used it the day I went into labor too, since she was so calm!
    I hadn’t planned on getting one either, but recommend it 100%. It made me feel so much better. Otherwise I’m SURE I would have been calling & begging for an ultrasound a few more times. Your baby’s heartbeat is the sweetest sound :)

    Reply
  3. We rented the baby beat online and it worked out great. We only needed it until I could feel movement (about 19 weeks, a little later than most because my uterus was retroverted), so renting made sense. Worked great and helped me relax to do it about once a week.

    Reply
  4. Yay for ears to hear!!

    Reply
  5. I have the angel sounds and it’s fairly good although I really dislike how the transducer is not separate. However, I think that’s just because of my personal use of instruments at work, because really the thing works great. As an FYI though, sometimes the little ones are hard to find and so don’t panic if you can’t find a heart beat every time.

    Reply
  6. I rented mine from babybeat.com. Very flexible with plans and rental. It was the same one my OB used.

    Reply
  7. Sandhya

     /  June 11, 2014

    Angel Sounds for sure. I sometimes used it multiple times a day. Just make sure you don’t leave it on by mistake — the battery dies very quickly.

    Reply
  8. After discussions with recurrently lost we’re renting a Doppler too. It does amazing things to relax us and to allow us to fall asleep listening to Nacho’s heartbeat, promotes sweet dreams :) I’m also big into the hypnobirthing thing at the moment. I just finished an interesting British book by Katherine Graves, I recommend it. Which one you reading now? xx

    Reply
    • I decided to rent one from babybeat! I feel better already and it hasn’t even arrived. I’m reading Hypnobirthing:The Mongan Method, by Marie Mongan. It’s great! What the Graves title? xo

      Reply
  9. I have a doppler that I bought. I would love to pass it on to you if you would like it. Send me a PM and I will be happy to do so.

    Reply
  10. I’m 13+3 and still can’t hear the HB on doppler… I’m putting it away for a couple of weeks again (given I just had an US I’m feeling good at the moment) just be aware you may freak yourself out if you can’t find it! But given you’re a couple of weeks ahead of me you might have more luck. Em x

    Reply
  11. My husband is in nursing school so I am waiting (not so) patiently until I can put his stethoscope to good use :)

    Reply
  12. Wonderful recs, thank you big time, everyone. I did some research and ended up going with a rental from babybeat, and already I feel less anxious. (: Can’t imagine how much less anxious I feel once it has *actually* arrived.

    Reply
  13. I have a Sonoline B I’d love to pass on. It worked GREAT for me (I could find the heartbeat at 8 weeks). If you can just cover shipping, it’s yours. Email me at esperanzasays {at} gmail {dot} com if you’re interested.

    Reply
  14. Sorry, I just read the comments and saw you got one. Never mind! (I forgot I’m just seeing old posts now since Feedly went down for two days).

    Reply

Leave a reply

