Lovenox and lovemaking

Lovenox

Ladies out there injecting themselves with Love.nox or Clex.ane: Do you have any tips for lessening the bruising?

Some days, I am left wih only a little mark, no bruise at all. Other times, I get bruises. And a couple of times, I think I got what might even qualify as hematomas—big ol’ bruises.

I also sometimes get lumps—what I believe are technically called plaques—at the bruise site. And these I really need to avoid restabbing.

I’m trying to “spread the love,” pun intended, by looking for other spots to stab, but my love handles are nice and fatty and insensitive whereas other areas are very sensitive. So I stick near the lovehandles, and am running out of space.

Yesterday, I nearly passed out after hitting a nerve cluster.

I am also beginning to have actual morning nausea (used to not start until later) and I think my skin is getting increasingly sensitive. These two things are not helping matters.

So I’ve started icing the area first (wasn’t necessary before). This seems to help a bit.

I also pinch the fat before stabbing, hold the pinch during the entire injection and while pulling the needle out. This also helps a tiny bit.

War stories? Advice?

Lovemaking

But in more fun news: I am a voracious love goddess. I feel like a teenager on spring break. I see DH = I want to be on DH. Yesterday, we made love at 4 in the morning, 10 at night, and then again this morning, and my orgasms occur in approximately one to three mintues! Really!

Woo hoo!

I was really worried about the orgasming, as I’ve mentioned, during the initial weeks of this first trimester. But now it just feels healthy and good. The endorphins and dopamine have got to be good for baby. It’s odd to include the baby in my thoughts, when thinking about orgasming, but it’s also kind of amazing—we are one creature right now, in so many ways.

Like when DH scared me unintentionally yesterday. I didn’t hear him come home because I was blasting Crosby, Stills and Nash, and suddenly he was behind me, and I screamed. I immediately pictured the baby jerking alert, little arms flexed, feeling my adrenaline.

I hope the baby can withstand all of the excitement of Godzilla, because I promised my husband, who has been awaiting its arrival like the coming of the messiah, that I would go with him this weekend. I’m just looking forward to seeing “Walter White” again, our old friend from our obsessive Breaking Bad days. I’m also hoping baby will not mind the fumes of the salon, as the gray is going down tomorrow in a rain of Aveda plant-based hair dyes.

Other loosenings of note: I am drinking 8 oz of coffee (REAL COFFEE) a day, and sleeping in parking lots much, much less.

 

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. J

     /  May 16, 2014

    Lovenox burns but there are some things you can do. I ice for 10 minutes with a small ice pack meant for kids, a cute duck. I put some paper towel between me and the duck, or directly on the skin if in a rush. I found 40IU burns less than 60 which I just graduated to. I inject very slowly and with 60 I inject one little bit, wait for the initial burn to pass, then go slowly and repeat. Each night is a little different. Going really slowly seems to make the bruises smaller. My hubbie was doing it too hard so I swallowed my fear and started doing it myself and the bruises are smaller. But every now and then you will hit nerves or create a big hematoma-the trick is to not have it happen too often. Google “lovely lovenox ladies” for more advice.

    Reply
  2. I was wondering about adding some coffee back in to see if I can keep my eyes open just a little longer… sounds like it’s worth considering. I am so excited to hear that you are a love goddess! DH must be pretty darn happy too!! I havent had to shoot up lovenox but I did find that once my stomach got sensitive to injections I could softly “poke” in spots until i hit one that didnt twinge and there would be much less bruising at the site. Hot and cold alternating for a few minutes afterward helped too but it’s going slowly that seems to make the most difference!

    Reply
    • I’m noticing a theme here—feel for the sweet spots! Thanks for the advice. And yes, love goddessing has been super fun! I think coffee is fine in small amounts. 8 oz of Starbucks is about 150 mg, 8 oz of other brews is way less than that, and they say that 200 mg is the limit. It has enabled me to be somewhat productive, which makes me a much happier mama. My OB knows the hell I’ve been through—and I just know there’s no way in hell he’d green light it if he had any reservations whatsoever.

      Reply
  3. Ok here are my tips I learned from the pros: if you start injecting and it immediately feels tender or sore, change the site. This might take a while to figure out because I always thought they all hurt but you will find a sweet spot where injecting is like cutting butter. Do not inject if it hurts because you will bruise no matter what. I do this now and have never needed ice. My bruises now are minimal, if any. It often takes me 3 or 4 times to find the sweet spot but once I do there’s no mistaking it. Also squeeze as much skin as you can with your fingers so it’s nice and plump. Helps. The weird bit now is Nacho kicks me when I pinch my tummy before injecting, making the needle bounce around as it goes in. All part of the fun! :) xx

    Reply
    • No WAY! He makes the needle bounce around??? My mom told me last night that I used to kick her away from the desk where she sat, kick her away from it with my feet, from inside her belly. Wha? I can’t believe these things happen.

      This is great advice. I know those sweet spots of which you speak. But one of my probs has been bruising/lumps even at the sweet spots. But I love your advice because it emphasizes the avoidance of all pain! Thanks.

      Reply
      • Oh yes. The other day he kicked the midwife’s heart rate monitor clean off my belly with incredible precision and impressive foot-eye ninja coordination. These little beings are already so mind blowing.
        The other thing I forgot to mention is to make sure you go slow. It seems to impact on bruising and lumps. I was told to try injecting over 60 seconds little bits at a time. So far has helped me. Hugs babe xx

        Reply
        • this morning i went more slowly and i also bunched up more fat, thinking of your advice, after searching for a non-sensitive spot (also as per your advice), and it seemed to go better! thank you!
          i’m amazed at nacho ninja. wowee!

          Reply
  4. You make me laugh, there love goddess! I am so happy you are doing so much better…except for those injections! I hope that you can find something to make them easier. And boy, oh boy does some amazing coffee sound like heaven! Your happiness makes me so happy!

    Reply
  5. I want real coffee. I’ve been so good with decaf, but it’s just not the same!

    Reply

Leave a reply

