10 weeks 4 days and moving around!

10 weeks 4 daysI don’t know what to do with myself, I’m so happy and astonished. I know this happens every day, but not in my uterus, not in my life, and I feel genuinely stunned by the miracle of life. Gah! Little baby! Filling up that gestational sac and moving around!!!

DH wasn’t with me (he had to work) but my girls were with me, the ultrasound tech and my favorite nurse. When the wand went in, I immediately threw my hand over my mouth at the size of baby. “Look at this,” the tech cried happily, “I can show you so much stuff today!”

She proceeded to show me the most amazing things I’ve seen with these eyes. Arms. Legs. Arms and legs, guys. But not only that—those arms and legs were wriggling around. And THEN the little baby started moving its whole body around! Wha??? The tech said that the light might be bothering him or her, awwww. It’s just too much. Too, too much. But the craziest moment was when I laughed. When I laughed, the little thing curled into a ball! And then it did a sort of half somersault, before unfurling again. Ohhhhhhh unbelievable. We are connected.

I saw its head, its nose, and–incredibly—its ears! I saw little itty bitty ears!

And for the first time, I actually saw the heartbeat. I have heard it up until now, but I haven’t really been able to see it very clearly on the screen. DH could. (I think I need to start wearing glasses.) But this time, not only could I see the flicker, I could see the heart chamber it was flickering inside.

I graduated from the RE clinic today. I got presents for the staff and Dr. San Roman. I will have to write more about that later. I want to spend some time soaking this in before I hit the road for my first OB appointment this afternoon. Spend some time thinking about my calisthenic wonder-child in there.

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. What an awesome day for you! Congrats!

    Reply
  2. Jo

     /  May 8, 2014

    Beautiful!

    Reply
  3. I’m reveling in your overdue joy!

    Reply
  4. Happy graduation day! What a way to celebrate!

    Reply
  5. Clare

     /  May 8, 2014

    So amazing!!! Congrats!

    Reply
  6. NotSoNewtoIVF

     /  May 8, 2014

    Oh this is too amazing I’m so pleased for you xx

    Reply
  7. Laurel

     /  May 8, 2014

    Oh I am sooo thrilled for you!!! I am just 8 weeks ahead of you but I love reliving these moments & watching all these good things happen to you!! This way my ultrasound that really blew me away and made it all seem soo real! It actually looks like a baby in there now- feet kicking around, whole body squirming… Etc. I know that you can not stop smiling right now & I love that!!! Such a miracle in there! So thrilled for you and your family!! Keep on glowing….

    Reply
    • You’re so sweet, thank you hugely for your excitement! And hearty congratulations on 18 weeks, wooooo! I’m delighted to hear that you are enjoying your pregnancy so much, too. I keep looking at images my baby-shaped teddy bear this morning, absolutely agog.

      Reply
  8. It sounds like you had an amazing day!!! Hugs!!

    Reply
  9. What a lovely, radiant post. xoxo

    Reply
  10. I love this! I love your happiness and how gorgeous this miracle has been to watch =). You are already such a beautiful mother!

    Reply

Leave a reply

