Heartbeat and measuring 6 w 1 day

Whew. Okay. Not bad news. Baby is measuring 6 w 1 day at 6 w 4 days, which they say is perfectly normal, and there is a heartbeat!

I had expected to be able to count the heart rate today, but apparently their machines do not pick up the sound this early. We could see the flicker, but not count it. I had to adjust my expectations and really try extraordinarily hard not to think something was wrong. But I need to trust my observations—there was simply zero indication that anything was abnormal, from either the tech or Dr. SR. The tech said, “oh no hon, it’s just too early to count it, it’s just the technology.” (Later, when I brought up the lack of hear rate number to Dr. SR, he dismissed my concerns without hesitation: “it’s too early to count yet,” he said, “but we’ll be able next week for sure.”)

When DH and I went back to see Dr SR, the doctor looked happy. He was very pleased we could see a “nice heartbeat” and pleased with the measurements.

“But the fetus basically stopped growing at 6 and 1 last time—is it a concern that that is where we’re at today?”

He said not at all and explained that if he did the scan right now, he could get 6 weeks or 6 and 5 or anything in between. He drew a tiny line to indicate how small the baby is, and how small a millimeter is. I felt better. He also reminded me that frozen embryos grow a tiny bit slower.

When we left I hugged him forever, so hard he laughed, and tears came to my eyes. I whispered, “Thanks.”

Then DH and I went to breakfast and tried to let the news sink in.

It’s good news. Of course I would have loved to be able to say the measurements were higher and to know the heartrate, but it is good. I still feel a little wobbly, but am trying to breathe into it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

37 Comments

  1. That was my experience, exactly. June Bug was measuring a few days behind what was expected, but they said it was totally normal. We got to see her heartbeat, but they couldn’t count it. And by the second ultrasound at 12 weeks she had made up those few days of growth. I know this is still a complicated time, but it IS good. Deep breaths! I hope the time passes quickly until the next time, and that everything continues to be reassuring!

    Reply
    • Ah, that is wonderfully reassuring. Thank you for sharing your experience! I know that everything is okay, it’s just so very hard to have total confidence since this is my seventh pregnancy. But hearing your words helps!

      Reply
      • I can only imagine how hard it is. Glad I could reassure you, though, and I am seriously cheering you on over here!

        Reply
  2. Danielle

     /  April 10, 2014

    Wonderful!!!!!!! Do not worry about the heartbeat. I had my first scan done at 6w5d. We saw our nugget’s heartbeat as well but they didn’t give us a count. In fact, the tech said if we had come in the day before we wouldn’t have seen the heartbeat at all — she said that time period is really early and a day can make a difference. So to see a heartbeat in the six-week range is glorious. It’s so hard not to worry… I practically vomited before our first ultrasound.

    At that scan our nugget measured 6w3d. Now our nugget is 20 pounds and more of a pork chop. ;-)

    Reply
    • Ha! Yes, DH and I practically double-vomitted! We were such a mess. You’re right—being able to even just see the little flicker at this stage is such a good sign.

      20 pounds! Amazing.

      Reply
  3. I’m so excited and happy for you!!!

    Reply
  4. JK

     /  April 10, 2014

    I have been watching all morning for this post. Wonderful news. Remember, this is medicine, not school. You want average, not above average. You are on your way! :)

    Reply
  5. Yessssssss! One more step in the right direction. So so happy for you!

    Reply
  6. Treyton

     /  April 10, 2014

    It’s so ormal to be worried, that’s what mommies do!!! Even when this special angel is finally in your arms, you will worry about him/her for the rest of your life! Enjoy the wonderful news, and try not to look to much into it, you will drive yourself crazy. For peace of mind, my ultrasounds always measured a few days off. Now he’s sleeping in my arms and measures off the chart!!!
    Be in the moment.
    God Bless

    Reply
    • Aw, thanks for that reassurance, it really does help me a lot! These early-days scans are just crazytown. Can’t wait til baby is sleping in my arms. (:

      Reply
  7. yay!!! No worries girl!!! xoxo!

    waitingforbabybird.com

    Reply
  8. Sarah

     /  April 10, 2014

    sooo much easier said that done given the history, but REALLY try not to add the stress if your Dr. is pleased. I went in for an ultrasound at 7 weeks 2 days, and measured 6 weeks 2 days- I was terrified by this measurement, however, my Dr. told me 80% of her patients measured before 8 weeks measure small because it is just too early, and you really can’t get an accurate measurement at that point. I asked her to measure again, and 5 minutes later she got 6 weeks 6 days. When I asked her how concerned I should be she said “zero!”, as she was very pleased with the heartbeat, etc. This doctors equipment didn’t have the technology to count the heartbeat that early either (although she had told me it “looked” to be about 150). Anyways, my point was to pass along what my Dr told me- a large majority measure on the small side that early- which is part of the reason most Doctors won’t scan until a min. of 8 weeks; when I went back 2 weeks later the nugget was measuring 1 day ahead and has been right there ever since! I am confident same will happen to you! Congrats on your day!!!

    Reply
    • Oh wow—that’s a wonderfully reassuring story! Went from measuring small to measuring ahead! It’s true, there is no way to measure accurately this early. I know that logically. I just wish I could fast-forward through these next few weeks (: But I’m trying to relax into it. The ultrasound photo looks really good—I’ve never seen the yolk sac and embryo look so defined before. Got to be a good sign, right? thank you so much for sharing.

      Reply
  9. So thrilled that things are continuing to progress in a positive way!! You have been through so much and deserve every bit of happiness. Continuing to cheer for you!!

    Reply
  10. So happy things are progressing well for you :)

    Reply
  11. I am so happy for you! Looking forward to next week’s ultrasound results as well. I am glad that I read here that the frozen embryos grow a little slower – gives me some information for *when* we make it to the ultrasound portion of this adventure.

    Thank you also for all of your support. Just being a few weeks ahead of me, I am excited to read about all of the good things you are experiencing. :)

    Reply
    • Yeah, that was really good to hear from the doctor—something I think I learned ages ago but had forgotten. It’s nice to be in a little support loop with you. (:

      Reply
  12. Clare

     /  April 10, 2014

    Yay!! Heartbeat!! That’s great :)

    Reply
  13. Amy Mac

     /  April 10, 2014

    My fingers have been crossed all week! THIS IS FABULOUS! Congratulations!

    Reply
  14. Amen for good news. I can completely relate to wanting more but I’m so glad Dr. SR told you about frozen embryos growing more slowly – I had completely forgotten that and am so glad you repeated it here (thank you). I am going to keep praying, hoping, dreaming and longing for this to be your long-overdue miracle-come-true.

    Reply
  15. That is awesome news and I’m so glad you’ve cleared another “hurdle” in this pregnancy! XO

    Reply
  16. HOORAY for awesome news! I am so glad your doctor is so good at explaining the variations and so good at soothing the fear in a good way. I am so excited for you, and so glad that the appointment you were dreading was a good one. Lots of love!

    Reply
  17. Jenny

     /  April 10, 2014

    Huge congratulations. I’m so happy for you. I’m a lurker with a similar background…5 miscarriages and an ectopic. Somehow we got 2 boys after the 5 miscarriages, one from a fresh cycle and one from a frozen. I recall the fright of the first trimester with my first son so vividly. But similar to yourself, we just took one day at a time. Didn’t expect a baby, but cautiously gained confidence as we progressed. You’re doing beautifully. Be gentle with yourself and your little one. It wants to be with you too….

    Reply
  18. Yay for a heartbeat! One step closer to your take home baby. :)

    Reply
  19. Oh such good news!!!! Couldn’t be happier for you!!! I will be praying for your baby to grow, grow, grow!!

    Reply
  20. Glad things are looking so good! Will be keeping you in my thoughts and hoping for everything to keep going along beautifully.

    Reply
  21. Totally normal hun! I’m soooo ecstatic for you, got such a good feeling about this one. So many hugs babe xxx

    Reply

Leave a reply

