One perfect gestational sac and yolk sac

Perfect! Oh my God, I am so relieved!!!!!

I love you, you perfect little thing!!!!

I have a really really really good feeling about this. I want to crumple to the earth and kiss it.

I know it’s early days, but the first scan could not have gone better. This morning I was mute and nervous and vacillated between feeling numb and sleepy and like I was going to throw up and pass out. But I somehow managed to drive myself to the clinic. Somehow managed to climb up on the table (after running to the bathroom to nervously vacate everything in my system). My palms were sweating. The tech was talking about the weather but it seemed like she was speaking half-English, half-piglatin. I answered her in shaky whispers.

And then there it was—a big black sac with a little fuzzy white thing inside it. “I’ve got a gestational sac and yolk sac my dear,” the tech said smiling.

“Just one?”

She nodded. I adjusted my previous expectations immediately, focusing on the tech’s smile. It must be looking good, I thought, for her to be smiling like that. I sent out waves of gratitude to the fabric of the cosmos.

“Is it the right size?” I asked.

“Oh yeah, it’s perfect.”

Perfect.

I was too stunned to cry.

Dr. SR wanted to see me immediately. He told me that at 5 weeks 4 days we want to see a sac that is about 12 mm. “And yours is a 15,” he said. “That’s really good. I like to see that right out of the gate.” He explained that he researched and wrote a paper about gestational sac size being predictive of miscarriage. “If you’d had around an eight,” he said, “I frankly would have been a little worried. But this is excellent. Next week is a big week, but I will just say that we are off to a really good start. AND we can already see the yolk sac. That doesn’t always happen this early on.”

He also said that it is possible that the second one will appear on the next ultrasound. But honestly guys I am just so happy and relieved I would of course be happy with one.

He didn’t mean to, and I didn’t say anything, but my second beta was in great big numbers on a sheet of paper on the table and I couldn’t help but see it: 1600. At least I’m pretty sure that’s what I saw. If so … Wow. Last time my beta 2 was 700-something.

I told him that I thought I had pregnancy rhinitis, but I realize now that it was just a bad cold! One I think I caught from my therapist, grr. But he said that the bug at the beginning and the cold are actually really good signs. “It means you are suppressed.” Yay!

Sigh. I feel so very relaxed. Today I will enjoy the good news and continue welcoming this new life inside me. Keep praying! It’s working!

Leave a comment

29 Comments

  1. Such great news!!!

    Reply
  2. Woohoo! I’m seriously thrilled for you!!! Congrats!

    Reply
  3. I am totally not surprised about how perfect everything looks! God is so good and I’m so happy for you! I am continuing to pray that everything develops perfectly and you have an amazing pregnancy! Love this post!!

    waitingforbabybird.com

    Reply
  4. I have just done a little skippy dance in my kitchen for you! Excellent excellent news. Xx

    Reply
  5. Babydust

     /  April 3, 2014

    Hi there, I am a lurker on your site, and haven’t posted much, but I want to say that I am thrilled for you. Hang in there this week. Your intuition is strong and it’s guiding you to the right places.

    Reply
  6. Kali

     /  April 3, 2014

    OMG, yay!

    Reply
  7. Clare

     /  April 3, 2014

    That is SO AWESOME!!!! I’m so happy to read this. I know how damn scary that first scan is and it’s so amazing to see such a good start so early. Yayayayay!

    Reply
  8. YAY!!! I can’t wait to see pics if you decide to post them!!!!!!!! This is great news and I am so so so happy for you!!! You are off to a GREAT start and I can’t wait for more updates!!!!!!

    Reply
  9. Fantastic news!!

    Reply
  10. Congrats! Very happy for you!
    My RBA baby sleeps in my lap right now. This will be you soon enough :)

    Reply
  11. Yay, congratulations!

    Reply
  12. Eff yeah! Love hearing the word “perfect” at doctors appts.

    Reply
  13. Ciara

     /  April 3, 2014

    Congratulations!!! I am beyond ecstatic for you right now!!!! My prayers and words of love to you and your babies will keep on coming!! xoxoxoxoxo love you

    Reply
  14. I am happy for your good news!

    Reply
  15. You ladies rock. Thank you from my heart, my teammates and good vibologists, my prayerleaders and cheerleaders—whatever you are doing, my uterus is receiving it!

    Reply
  16. Congrats on your one bean! Keep it going:-)

    Reply
  17. Treyton

     /  April 3, 2014

    How wonderful!!! I have been waiting to know what the outcome would be, and you are so blessed to have one healthy baby bean!!! I’m so happy and excited for you. Congrats:-)
    Just wanted to add that I just got a BFP today with my donor eggs from RBA. I’m right behind you.

    Reply
    • Yeah!!! How many embryos did you transfer? Keep me posted—exciting!!! (I’ve never written so many exclamation points as I have in the last two days. I’m feeling a wave of luck hitting a bunch of us. Let’s do this!)

      Reply
  18. Yay I love the word perfect!

    Reply
  19. Fingers crossed but I think this is it :)

    Reply
  20. So so happy for you!

    Reply
  21. What fabulous news. I’m so thrilled for you. Congratulations!

    Reply
  22. Woohoo! Congratulations!

    Reply
  23. This is so fantastic. Congratulations to all three of you!

    Reply
  24. Again—mwah, mwah, hug, hug, to all of you. I’m still feeling psyched. Time is creaking by. I think I will write a short story today to distract myself. xoxoxo

    Reply
  25. Woop woop!!! OMG sooooo excited for you sweetness! One day at a time. Just feeling sooo good about this babe. Hugs xxx

    Reply
  26. Hooray for a perfect sac! Hooray hooray hooray!

    Reply
  27. NotSoNewtoIVF

     /  April 5, 2014

    Such wonderful news x

    Reply

Leave a reply

