March 24: Beta 1 and DH’s licensing exam

Tomorrow is a big day in our little household: I’m going in for my Beta 1, and DH is taking his psychology licensing exam. Including the time he spent on prereqs, it has taken him seven years to get to this day. Seven years! His graduate program was five years long, and he has been working as a practicing psychologist for the VA for over a year now. To say I am proud of him is an understatement.

I haven’t written about it much, but in recent months, DH has been hunched over mountains of index cards and books, taking practice exams, and exclaiming, “Dammit!” quite a bit. Passing by his study-cave, I might hear him read aloud something like this:

“The correction for attenuation formula is useful for blah-de-blah blah-de-blah when…Sources of systematic error have been controlled? Sources of criterion contamination haven’t been eliminated? Measurement error blah-de-blah? Or sampling error has biased the blah-de-blah-blah-de-blah?”  And then, a few seconds later: “Dammit!”

Why someone working with suicidal war veterans needs to be tested on the above I do not know. What I do know is that he’s going to ace it, ’cause his brain is real big and stuff.

As for my test tomorrow, it’s the first one, the easy one, so I don’t have any nervous flutters yet. The second line of the FRER I took this morning was much darker than the one I took a few days ago, so that’s a good sign of hCG rising. Oddly enough, DH will be discovering his exam results at the same time we will be discovering what’s what via week 6 ultrasound. We’re in synch. Can you imagine how happy we will be if we both “pass the test,” at the same time? It would be a career-family cornucopia, and a future we’ve been long growing toward.

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Good luck, good luck, good luck to both of you! Licensing exams are no fun, but it sounds like your hubby is well prepared and going to do great.

    Thinking of you both.

    Reply
  2. Good luck to both of you! Having experienced both, I can say that right now my empathy for the EPPP is probably higher. Just tell him the EVERYONE leaves the test feeling like they failed. It’s something about how the questions are written. Talk about some anxious waiting ahead!

    Reply
    • Thank you, I will let him know! He has taken a bunch of practice exams, failed some, passed others, but everyone keeps saying that the practice exams are way harder than the read deal. This morning he said he slept well, yay. I just wish he could get his results right away!

      Reply
  3. Lots of luck, lady! I can’t wait for your number and YAY for your hubby! I bet he will do amazing!

    Reply
  4. Good luck to both of you!

    Reply
  5. Good luck! Hope you both pass with flying colors tomorrow! Can’t wait for the update!

    Reply
  6. Good luck! Will be keeping you both in my thoughts! Is he taking the EPPP? If so I will send extra thoughts!

    Reply
  7. Good luck for both of you x

    Reply
  8. Thank you all for the good luck! We both slept well and it’s a gorgeous day here in LI. Here we go!

    Reply
  9. the EPPP is a beast. I hope your husband passes it and moves on to the rest of his career as a psychologist. I’m so glad that’s behind me.
    Hoping your first beta is more than a pass! Perhaps a nice fat number followed by another one in two days of – oh – doubled the amount.
    Wishing you both well.

    Reply
  10. Two big milestones! I will be thinking of you both. The EPPP is such an ordeal, and Katie is right – no matter what you feel that you’ve failed. I and several others I know scored above the 90th percentile, but still walked out convinced of our dismal performance. Congratulations to him for tackling this final milestone in his PhD journey. And fingers crossed to you for a great beta tomorrow!

    Mo

    Reply
  11. Hoping to hear something soon!!

    Reply
  12. Betsy

     /  March 25, 2014

    Waiting to hear…..

    Reply
  13. just stalking your blog…

    Reply

Leave a reply

