We’re so happy!

just this one

They both survived the thaw beautifully! These little ones are home. In keeping with The Numberless Cycle, I told Dr. S that I didn’t need to know any numbers regarding cell survival, any statistics, any anything other than the answer to the question of one or two, and he said, “Well, I can tell you that they both thawed beautifully,” and I said, “Yay!”

Then there they were up on the screen.

Before this point, my mom and I hugged, she held my cold hands and warmed them, and we laughed a lot, especially once the vali.um kicked in. At one point, a nurse told me something, and I nodded and said, “Okay,” and my mom said, “What did she just say?” And I just smiled loopily and said: “I don’t know. I don’t care.” And then we both broke into giddy laughter.

They almost didn’t let her stay in the room because of some form I was supposed to sign (before on valium) to allow her in the transfer room, a form I was never told about or sent, even though I informed them that she would be with me. The nurse said my mom was going to have to leave, because if I signed the form now it “wouldn’t stand up in a court of law,”  and I said, “No, she’s staying, you’ll just have to talk to Dr. Shapiro. He knows what I’ve been through. I haven’t seen my mom in over a year and it is very important to me that she is here.” I said all this while both of my hands were in both of my mom’s hands, and we basically looked glued together. The nurse was persistent, but I just said, “I’m sorry, you’re going to have to talk to someone about this, she’s not going anywhere,” but very pleasantly. Probably because of the Val.ium, I wasn’t really upset—and inside I was thinking that if she really did have to leave the room, it would be okay. But my warrior self was rewarded because the nurse left and came back a while later and said that it was okay, that Dr. S was going to talk to some people before he came in and make it all all right: Mom could stay.

All this after yesterday: My mom’s flight was delayed 6 times! And threatened to be cancelled. Also: there was an enormous accident on the freeway, and it took me an hour and a half to get to the airport to pick her up. But we rode each wave and made it to each other, five hours late, but just in time for dinner.

So she was there in the room during the transfer. And it really was as it should be. She was there when the point of light of the embryos was put in my uterus, there to watch with me in amazement. There when the embryologist gave us a photo of the twins. “That’s what they look like when they’re about five days old,” I said, and she said, “I can’t wait to tell them someday that I was one of the first to see them when they were little—and I mean really little.”

I am coming off the drugs now after a lovely nap. Feeling positive, and so is DH. When I sent him the above text message, I wasn’t expecting him to speak directly back to them, and tears sprang to my eyes. They must feel the peace, harmony, and happiness in me. Recognize the energy as home. Hello, lil darlins, so wonderful to be one with you! 

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. Good for you for insisting on having your mom in the room with you. I am so happy for you that the embryos are in! Congrats girl. Can’t wait to hear great news. :)

    Reply
  2. Smiling a huge smile from reading this. And so very glad your mom was present for this.

    Now I have a message for your twin embies: implant, burrow deep and GROW!

    Reply
  3. NotSoNewtoIVF

     /  March 14, 2014

    Just been catching up on your blog. So so pleased your little embies are where they belong and that your mum got to share that experience with you. Congrats on being PUPO! Xx

    Reply
  4. JK

     /  March 14, 2014

    Gorgeous little embryos! Praying for double pink lines in your near future!

    Reply
  5. I am so very happy for you both and your tiny people! A big congrats and hugs and love for you all! This makes me so stoked! CanNOT wait for those twin pink lines!

    Reply
  6. Clare

     /  March 15, 2014

    Amazing!!!!!! They look like very healthy, happy bundles of cells. Now they’re nestling in and making themselves at home. Sounds like having your mom there made things just that much more special. I remember seeing those 2 dots of light on the screen. I wasn’t expecting that and it’s something I’ll never forget. Congrats on your PUPO status!! xx

    Reply
  7. Treyton

     /  March 15, 2014

    This brought tears to my eyes. Im praying for you and your little sweeties. I just know it’s going to all workout this time:-)

    Reply
  8. So glad your transfer went smoothly and your mom got to stay! My mom was with me for my last two transfers too. She basically thinks she is an RE now! lol

    Reply
  9. I’m so glad that she got to stay! I’m praying for postitive results!

    Reply
  10. Violet

     /  March 15, 2014

    Ohmigoodness, love your mom! You just keep doing what you’re doing and all will keep going well.
    So happy for you!

    Reply
  11. Oh this is wonderful! Take care of your self!

    Reply
  12. Yay! So happy everything went beautifully and they are now incubating where should be! Grow little ones, grow!

    Reply
  13. Such a beautiful experience. I’m so pleased sweetie that you are happily united with your embies and that your mum was there to be with you. Sending you so many good vibes, but you have so many emanating from you already :) love xxx

    Reply
  14. Hope these embryos are snuggling in for the long haul. Wonderful that your mom got to be there with you and that you didn’t take no for an answer. GL with your “no numbers” approach. I’ll wave from the skies when I fly over NY tomorrow en route to Atlanta:-)

    Reply
  15. Ahhh, so amazing! I love that photo. Science is so fantastic. Excited to watch your embies grown into little people!

    Reply
  16. It sounds like you’re in a very positive, hopeful place. Sending positive, sticky thoughts your way.

    Reply
  17. Wonderful news. Loving the positivity from your writing xx

    Reply
  18. Good luck! Looking forward to a nice Prego announcement from you. Loved the text to your husband.

    Reply
  19. Hi all! Am back from my travels, and this is the first chance I’ve had to sit down and write a proper THANK YOU from all four of us for the warming, heartfelt congrats and the encouragement. I seriously love you. xoxoxoxo

    Reply
  20. They are some good looking embryos!

    Reply
  21. Look at those cuties! Welcome back!!!!

    Reply

Leave a reply

