My AMH went up and I’m ovulating 2 eggs (without stims)

Just got out of my monitoring appointment with Dr. San Roman. I’m being monitored for ovulation, so we can time my endometrial “scratch biopsy” 7 days later. To my great surprise, I found out that my AMH has gone UP over the past year and a half from 0.2 to 0.35. I realize that that is not a giant increase, but still, according to the studies I have read, AMH is supposed to decrease by 0.2 each year. So I expected it to be basically nil today. Instead the number has risen back up close to where I started this journey three years ago (0.44). Dr. San Roman says that he doesn’t believe all of the hype about AMH.  My FSH and other hormones have always been solidly normal, and he says that you have to look at the whole picture. “You are one of the most fertile infertile people I’ve met,” he said, commenting on the ease of pregnancy and my hormone bloodwork results.

Not only that, but it’s looking strongly like I’m going to ovulate 2 eggs this month—2 eggs, without drug stimulation of any sort. I’ve been monitored many times, at this point, and I’ve never ovulated more than one egg without stims.

I believe I manifested those two eggs. I have been connecting with my two embryos in Atlanta through meditation, creating art that specifically includes both of them, and creative visualization exercises during which I imagine myself pregnant with twins, or holding my two babies. During my last An-Ra session with my new therapist, I felt my two babies’ little bodies inside the taut swell of my belly. I haven’t been writing about any of this in much detail because I haven’t felt ready to express it here. But had to share this today—the two eggs I’m about to ovulate are a physical manifestation of what I have been focusing on in my art, meditations, and visualizations, I just know it in my bones.

Of course that doesn’t mean we’re going to try naturally this month! We still don’t know what the issue is—my eggs, DH’s sperm, or both, or neither—so that would be unwise.

“But maybe,” Dr. San Roman said quietly, almost shyly, as if testing out how I would react, “maybe it’s a sign. A good sign for your double embryo transfer.” Our eyes met. He raised his eyebrows. And I smiled.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

25 Comments

  1. AMH is confusing. I honestly think doctors jumped a little too quickly on the AMH bandwagon and believed it revealed more than it actually does. It’s not a crystal ball. I’ve had AMH levels at 2.54, 4.3, and 5.7 all at the same lab and same units of measurement. That’s not supposed to happen. All three tests were within nine months of one another. Essentially, all we’ve been able to ascertain from that is that I don’t have POF or DOR… but do I have PCOS? Who knows, one value says yes another says no. AMH is just frustrating!

    I like that the doctor is feeling so positive about your upcoming transfer! Wishing you the best!

    Reply
    • Thank you! Yeah, Dr. San Roman is the bomb. I heart him. Is it weird to have a little crush on your RE? Hmmm…

      AMH. After all of those months of agonizing about it, researching it am beginning to wonder if the number is basically meaningless.

      Reply
  2. The mind/body connection is strong and more research is coming out daily to support it. Still, this news amazes me and gives me so much hope for you. Keeping everything crossed for you.

    Reply
    • Woo! I know. I feel so strong and happy today. It IS amazing. If you ever come across research about the mind-body connection you’d like to share, please give me a shout.

      Reply
  3. What a lovely uplifting beautiful post hun. Mind over matter in a serious way. This is incredible! See what you are capable of? I have goosebumps. I’m just so excited for the possibilities, I can’t wait. Sending so much love your way xxx
    Ps bloody AMH. I am so over it!

    Reply
    • Ha! Bloody AMH indeed. Numbers….whatEVER. What good have they done us? But this energy work, this mind-body work, on the other hand, has done so much. I don’t know what is going to happen in the future with the transfer, but whatever comes, this experience can’t bode anything but good stuff.

      Reply
  4. AMH results confuse the heck out of me. Mine also went up (albeit only to .28, but hey, for me that’s almost double). I’ve also been one of those “DOR” patients that supposedly have no eggs, yet I ovulate monthly and I’ve gotten pregnant 4x on our own. Thought in the back of my head, it’s still nice to see that we aren’t declining at record speed either. :)

    Reply
  5. Wow, that’s pretty incredible. I’m with you, I bet your efforts to connect with the embryos has caused the potential stereo ovulation. I’m keeping you in my thoughts and prayers – so hoping you get to hold those two babies down the road.

    Reply
  6. Love me some visualization. Everything was going so well and I fell off the visualization practice I was doing when I we were going through treatments. But I need it again now. So much. More than I’ve ever needed it. And I believe in it. Keep it up. I can’t believe you have two eggs in there right now. These little gifts to give you peace and hope.

    Reply
    • You put it just right (as always)—little gifts, and a little voice saying that it is okay to hope. I think about you every day and am eagerly awaiting an update. I believe in the power of mass consciousness and right now my postive vibes are joining and weaving together with the positive vibes of all of your other readers and creating a loving safety net for your two babies. That’s my visualization for you. They are safe, warm, growing, and eager to meet their mama. XO!

      Reply
  7. I second that it is awesome that your doctor is so positive about the transfer!!! Hoping for the best!

    Reply
    • Dr. SR calls himself “Gabie Baby,” and says, “Let’s see if I can lend some of my Gabie Baby magic to this transfer.” Maybe he really is magic. Who knows, right? In any case, his positivity is somehting I definitely like having on my team.

      Reply
  8. Tess

     /  January 29, 2014

    Apparently if one is lacking Vitamin D, it can hurt AMH numbers.

    I don’t know what that means, but it’s interesting. I guess anyone who is doing fertility treatments should get their Vitamin D levels tested to make sure they’re normal.

    Reply
  9. Tess

     /  January 29, 2014

    btw- sending good thoughts! This was a beautiful post.

    Reply
  10. Kali

     /  January 29, 2014

    This and your last post have really, really touched me.

    I lose faith in manifesting yet I see it in small ways all the time. I am going to take inspiration from you and connect to my child. Its soul is hovering around me, waiting for the right vehicle, of this I’m sure, I’ve been sure of it for a long time.

    Reply
    • Amazing! Those are strong words. I was just this second thinking about you, got on here, and here you are…please let me know how the connecting goes, I’m so curious to hear about it. Am feeling pretty damn happy and energetic today. I feel like I am shedding any last bits of skepticism I had about the mind-body connection and the existence of a spiritual realm. It’s intense and wholly good. Love, TUT

      Reply
      • Kali

         /  January 30, 2014

        Hi there–after I wrote that post, there is a song I couldn’t get out of my head “Waiting for a star to fall”. I’m listening to it now. I think I mentioned my “baby armoire” and I’d decided in an idle moment a few weeks ago, when I thought of picking up the paintbrush that the next embellishment was going to be stars (my version of them).

        So maybe that’s how I feel it, it’s as sure as the stars, as miraculous as the stars, how do I bring one down to me? There’s one next to me, but how do I give him/her a body so we can be together?

        I lost that equilibrium we discussed a couple of posts ago, but you continually inspire me to find it again.

        Though most of middle school I choose to forget, I remember in chemistry class, back in 9th grade, being fascinated with “equilibrium” because though from a distance it looks calm, even inactive, if you look with a microscope (or whatever allows you to see it up close) it’s actually very energetic, with equal and opposite reactions maintaining it. I try to remember this, too, that the negative and positive feelings are painful because I’m so close to them, if I can step back to the bigger picture, it is easier to continue to work toward equilibrium. And it IS continual work. For the atoms, and for my feelings.

        I don’t even know if that made sense, but you’re my outlet as I have not started my blog so I’m putting it here.

        Hugs to you TUT. I LOVE that your AMH went up, and your body is telling you with two eggs, that extra effort, that it wants to be pregnant. I have my fingers, toes, and some heartstrings crossed for you for this transfer. Little TUT star, your carriage awaits!

        Reply
        • Oh boy now I kind of don’t want you to start your own blog because you might stop writing these ridiculous-beautiful comments on my blog! (:

          But no, I’m kidding. Your astonishing, kind, thoughtful, wise voice needs to be heard by more people. You will help many. You are special!

          What you say about equilibrium knocks me down. Wow. Now I want to go read more about the chemical nature of it. It is fitting exactly with what DH and I are reading about right now in spiritual texts….you know the wheel of samsara? Something we are reading right now is putting it so beautifully and clearly. Saying that the wheel of samsara, the up and the down of it, is something we have manifested in order to experience our true spiritual nature. So the point of life isn’t exactly to get off the wheel and enter nirvana—though that will eventually happen—the point is to experience the wonder of the wheel of itself. The work of your atoms, and your feelings, is all part of that wheel.

          You are so lovely for calling me little TUT star. That makes me teary (happy teary). Such a sweet thing to say. I think my carriage is awaiting me, too. Sometimes I’m like: “Are you insane?” But then I just have this strong feeling that everything is going to be okay, and I really have a lot of faith in this upcoming transfer, against all logic. I don’t even feel that need to protect myself. (At least not right now, not yet.)

          Love you girl.

          Reply
  11. Hello! Wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for a Liebster award. http://mydinkishlife.wordpress.com/2014/01/30/liebster-award (I’m not sure if I have successfully made that a link)

    Reply
    • Oh you’re so nice! I’m honored. Actually already did the liebster thing but thank you so much for nominating me! Maybe some new readers will find me that way. xo

      Reply
  12. Vedha

     /  January 30, 2014

    I am getting my hsg test done this Saturday and my docter has advised that we can go ahead with an iui in the same cycle.i am from India and would like to know the protocols which are used in the US.should we wait for the next cycle to start with the iui.

    Reply
  1. Synchronicity | the unexpected trip

Leave a reply

