2013 WordPress report / Other countries, give me a holler

WordPress sent this report to me…it’s interesting for sure! I’ve never been all that concerned about stats. But what I do care about is connecting to people, finding and giving support, and feeling like all of this experience has meaning. Thank you so, so much for reading, commenting, and supporting me, and for helping guide me along this truly surprising trip through the blogosphere. I had no idea what I was about to do that night, once upon a time in July of 2012, watching the midnight sky from the rooftop of our Brooklyn brownstone and having the thought: I should start a blog…

What I like about this report is looking at the map, seeing all of the readers from other countries who are checking out this tiny blog broadcasting from a 70’s-era kitchen in a hard-to-find LI suburb. If you are from a country other than my own and want to comment a little hello from your particular corner of the world, I’d really love that.

For all of my commenters and fellow bloggers—your capacity for insight and compassion knocks me down. For the quieter ones, thank you for caring and for following my story.

I am raising my glass to all of you tonight. It has been a teary day. 2013—you tested everything in me. 2014—I have no idea what you are going to be about, and I’m more than a little scared of your power over the rest of my life. But I’m trying my damnedest to befriend you.

We’re meeting up with friends and I know that the night will be better than this teary day. I’ve got a bacon-and-spinach frittata, a bottle of vodka and a bottle of wine, a shitload of gluten-free chocolate chip cookies, Pictionary and Monopoly, and a sleeping husband in the living room who would do anything for me—and I defy this wistful day to turn into a night that beats me down.

LOVE,

TUT

(The Unexpected Trip)

The Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 72,000 times in 2013. If it were an exhibit at the Louvre Museum, it would take about 3 days for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. wow that’s a lot of people!! I hope you have a great night and I look forward to following you into 2014! :) hugs!

    Reply
  2. Wow, how great is that!!! Congrats, and cheers to 2014! I am certainly anticipating a fabulous 2014 you! Lots of love your way, Have a hoot tonight! xox

    Reply
  3. First time commenter coming out of the closet. I am in Barrie, Ontario Canada. CI always want to comment but I’m usually reading on my phone or ipad. Regarding your last post. I always felt like that. I avoided some places in particular because I just couldn’t muster the emotional strength needed. But when it comes to family, I say go and visit and hold your new nephew and cry with him in your arms if you feel like it. But just breath them in. I made a promise to myself the last year of us trying. If I couldn’t be a mom I would be the most fabulous aunt I could. And I did hold my nephews and cry, many a time.
    All my very best wishes to you for 2014.
    ks

    Reply
    • So glad you came out of the closet, nice to hear your voice. Your advice is stellar. And it gives me a nudge. Time is flying by. He won’t be little forever. I can’t tell you how hard it will be but I know that it is the right thing to do for me right now. In fact I am even thinking of beginning to do volunteer (social work) work with kids…If I want them in my life, and I do, I have the skills to make that happen in other ways. All my best back to you in 2014!

      Reply
  4. Emski

     /  January 1, 2014

    I’m reading from Australia. Have only recently discovered your blog when I started looking for blogs about using donor eggs… I hadn’t been on for a while so am sorry to see that you had another loss. I am also doing donor eggs in March in Cape Town and have Factor V, Hetero for MTHFR, coeliac, high NK Cells etc.
    I wish you all the best for the coming year.
    Em x

    Reply
    • Hi Australia! I’ve never been to your part of the world but have always wanted to. I’m glad you found my blog. We’ll be cycling at about the same time—I’m holding off til March. Let’s hope it’s a lucky year for us, I’ll be thinking of you. XO

      Reply
  5. Sending you so much love dear friend. May 2014 be a brighter year. xxx

    Reply
  6. I was more than happy to show 2013 the door. For a lot of us. May 2014 bring us a little sunshine…you certainly deserve some happy. xoxo

    Reply
  7. Clare

     /  January 1, 2014

    Canadian here! I found your blog via Project Sweetpea. You had left an extremely thoughtful comment on one of her posts so I had to click. I really enjoy your writing. Hoping lots of good things come your way in 2014. x

    Reply
  8. Hey lady, hope your NYE was good! XO

    Reply
    • Thanks MLACS! It was lovely to be with friends…and then of course during the drive home I had a spell of chokey crazy sobbing, thinking about the year that was. Sigh. At least the next day we did not take off our pajamas and ordered take-out and watched Pacific Rim. XO

      Reply
  9. Happy, happy New Year to you! Congrats on all the visits, especially internationally! That’s AMAZING. I hope that 2014 brings good things only. I am also all too happy to give the boot to 2013. I rang in the new year with gin and champagne, so I think we had the same idea for celebration! :) Many hugs and warm thoughts to you, friend.

    Reply
    • Gin and champagne, hallelujah! I ended up only being able to consume a glass and a half of wine—LAME. But I was exhausted. Happy new year back to you, sister.

      Reply
  10. Kali

     /  January 2, 2014

    Happy New Year to you, my dear. I feel both hope and hopelessness fro 2014. When I said goodbye to 2012 I was so glad–2013 was worse. I wish us both success in this endeavor in 2014. I don’t really wish for God’s will, but ours, to take us to our goal.

    Reply
    • Yeah, you know in 2011 I got a wonderful New Year’s card from a friend that she handmade and I remember looking at it and thinking: “2011 is going to be my big year.” Little did I know that it was going to be the start of the longest-running nightmare, one that is worse than anything I ever imagined. Perhaps some new cards will flip over this year. I hope so for both of us.

      Reply
  11. NotSoNewtoIVF

     /  January 3, 2014

    So cool to have so many followers.. and who can blame them! Wishing such good things for you in 2014 x

    Reply
  12. A big hello from a small country called Qatar :) i have always been a silent observer…but not the least bit out of laziness to comment but solely for the fact that many of ur posts seem to resonate with me and so I am mostly in an awe. You are my virtual dopple ganger :) your posts on ur ongoing pregnancies and the miscarriages later on have several times been sad reminders. We both took a hiatus from work roughly the same time (down to the week!!! ) and I marvel at how efficiently your utilizing ur free time unlike me. Wish you the best for 2014…

    Reply
    • Wow! Hello little country Qatar! It is so exciting to hear from you. Yes, across-the-waters dopplegangers, it sounds like. Thank you for saying I’m using my time efficiently, I often don’t feel that way at all. Am very glad the blog is helpful or resonate in any way. Writing it has giving my life more meaning during these past years than I ever expected. Thank you so much for stopping by! I hope you are healing and finding a way toward family.

      Reply
  13. I’m a Canadian now blogging from the UK. It’s really cool to get those stats reports and see all the followers from so many little corners of the globe, isn’t it?

    I have been one of the quieter ones (I found your blog about three months back), but your words and thoughts have inspired and touched me, and I resolve to follow more actively (i.e. comment) in 2014. I hope the year has many wonderful things in store for you.

    Reply
    • Hi! I’ve been following you for a while now, too! But I have to admit I am simply terrible about checking my Blogger dashboard. It’s just a convenience thing–the WordPress ones are easier to check. I resolve to check out my Blogger people more regularly in 2014 (: I hope this year is a great one for you. xoxo

      Reply

Leave a reply

