I woke up with you on my mind

7:00 a.m., December 25th, and I woke up thinking of all of you. Some of you are skipping Christmas in an effort to protect your hearts; some of you are steeling yourself for awkward or painful or depressing interactions, and are looking forward to a day of wine and bathroom cries; some of you are at a point at which you can embrace the day, even though you are hurting and healing; some of you are finally expecting to have your babies soon and this might be the first Christmas you’ve felt celebratory in years.

I hold all of you in my heart today. We’re heading off to the Poconos Mountains, to a friend’s family’s retreat house, where we will stay through the weekend. I’m bringing all of my art supplies and my hiking boots and the stash of gluten-free chocolate-chip cookies I baked yesterday. My love’s in the other room, still sleeping. We’re a little melancholy, but I’m sure the natural beauty we’re about to encounter will lift us up. I’m hoping it will be a reflective and healing time.

I’m hoping that whatever phase of this crazy trip you are in right now that you find moments of peace, even joy, today.

And for those of you who aren’t on this trip exactly, I wish you peace and joy, knowing that each of you have your own journeys that are filled with different kinds of challenges and struggles.

All of you have helped me more than I’m able to describe in black-and-white on a screen. Thank you. I’m so grateful you are with me as we enter 2014 with arms linked.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Enjoy your trip, sounds amazing:).

    Reply
  2. Merry Christmas!!

    Reply
  3. Merry Christmas! XO

    Reply
  4. Beautifully said. Merry Christmas xx

    Reply
  5. Yes to all of this. Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  6. Kali

     /  December 26, 2013

    Merry Christmas gorgeous! Thank you for all your support through this. I head home from my own Christmas with family today. May you receive as much as you give and more in 2014!

    Reply

Leave a reply

