A walk, a holiday party, a brownie pie

Just a quick one to say that, at least yesterday and today, the heaviness is apparently lifting a little. It’s a combination of factors. I’d like to take a moment to reflect on some of the good stuff I’ve been doing to get out the hell out of this miner’s hole:

  • Definitely the Zoloft (although I still need to figure out when is the best time to take it).
  • The gym. I joined one (60 dollars a month, no contract, very pleased) and ran three miles on the elliptical machine twice last week–a start.
  • Boycott on all alcohol (drinking a depressant while depressed doesn’t work out too hot for me).
  • Trying to heal my relationship with my MIL (a story for another post).
  • Me & DH are feeling increasingly on the same team in the family-making terrain.
  • Taking vitamin supplements.
  • Getting up at 7:30 a.m. and going to bed at 10:30 – 11:00 p.m. every day.
  • Reading The Little Book of Letting Go.
  • Getting love-emails from my mom.
  • Exploring the world of gluten-free baking—starting today, with a brownie pie.
  • Cooking southern food.
  • Fitting into my skinny jeans and actually wanting to have sex occasionally.

Yesterday, DH and I went for a very long walk through a beautiful park with a friend and her two adorable dogs, and today we are going to a holiday party at another friend’s house. Christmas Eve through the weekend, we’re going to a friend’s family’s retreat house in the Poconos, just the two of us, where I hope to (finally) make some art, like I’ve been talking about doing for months now, and also do some hiking. The extra serotonin floating around in my brain is starting to allow me to focus on the now more than I was before, and all that is in my power to do is just keep going through the actions of inviting health and peace into my life. So far it’s going okay, one inch at a time.

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I’m so happy to read this post sweetie. Yay for lists of good stuff. Yay for feeling better. This is me smiling. Soooo good.
    Err ps, I definitely need that GF brownie pie recipe pronto! I’ve never heard of a brownie pie but man do I need one! xxx

    Reply
  2. Your retreat christmas sounds amazing! So glad to hear your doing a little better. It reminds me that, even though it doesnt always feel like it, things can and do get better.

    Reply
  3. Sounds like all great things. I love Zoloft. It made me so much more laid back! But yes, unfortunately it does not mix well with my other favorite relaxation tool: vino. Congrats on making these significant steps!

    Reply
    • Thanks! Yeah, it’s starting to work and the relief is huge! Have you stayed on it during pregnancy?

      Reply
      • I have not, but my doctor chose it cause it was the safest while TTC. I think some people do weigh the pros and cons of staying on with their doctor and for me we decided not too. Mostly because the main goal was to reduce anxiety during the transfer, which we thought might be causing our hives. And it definitely served that purpose! I was more relaxed during the transfer and two week wait. And my hives were much smaller. I went off it “gradually” the two days after my positive HPT

        Reply
        • That’s really good to know, I was thinking of doing something similar. From what I can gather Zoloft has some small risks in the second and third trimesters (at much higher doses than I’m on) but not in the first.

          Reply
          • Yes my psychiatrist reviewed all the risks with me. They are serious but small if that makes sense. Like increase the risk of whatever from .5-1%

            Reply
  4. I’m not really one to get super excited about exercise (viewing it more as a have-to instead of a want-to) but I’m convinced that sticking to a solid workout routine helped me manage my ups and downs a lot better this year. And brownie pie can probably fix just about anything.

    Reply
  5. Really pleased it’s getting a little easier for you xx

    Reply

Leave a reply

