I just wrote back to your comments!/ “Love is cool”

I just spent time going through your comments from the last several days and replying to as many as I could, my heart full, my eyes often brimming with tears. You’ve been a remarkable support for me and I don’t know how to thank you, other than to say thank you. I always try to respond to each and every comment, but there were so many that I had to limit it a little—if didn’t say anything specifically, please know I read and felt your words.

I have not included many of my friends or family on my donor egg journey. It’s my parents, DH, a couple of amazing ladies here on LI, my friend in Wyoming, and a few of my dear friends from Resolve. So when I call you a life raft I really am not exaggerating.

My coping skills are in unusually high gear today. It’s actually kind of awesome. I might be stronger, healthier, than I realize. I am wanting to cook and bake. I am cleaning. I don’t feel desperate or isolated. I don’t feel like an object of pity. I am feeling neutral-to-good. Hmm. Okay. I’m going with it. I’m holding it all lightly. Moving through what is. Maybe the sharp hills of the rollercoaster are over. Loving DH is a balm, of course. Lots of hugs. Sweet glances. Love. As my wedding-photographer friend says (the one who took our romantic Manhattan wedding pics this past June): “Love is cool.”

Yeah, it is. If you open yourself, love comes in. That’s the cool thing about love: it always, always wants to come in.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I’m so glad to see you feeling that characteristic optimism again because (in part) I need someone to look up to! Your resilience is really inspiring.

    Reply
  2. A beautiful post that embodies strength, grace, courage and love. Continuing to think of you often. xoxo

    Reply

Leave a reply

