TMI OMG EWCM

Couldn’t resist the cutesy title. Now, I have always been a little cocky about my cervical fluid. When you have a bunch of miscarriages, you tend to cling to what you have going right, and I clung (pun intended) to my reliable EWCM. It’s true that when I’ve checked my cervical fluid for timed intercourse (or protected intercourse, back in the day) I have stretched egg-white fluid between my thumb and index finger that was as long as a spaghetti noodle. But this morning: holy hell. I have never seen anything like it. The stuff is like something out of Aliens. When I saw it, I burst out laughing. Must be the estrogen! And I hope it bodes well for my lining check…

Which is in a couple of hours. I’m a little nervous. Unfortunately, it is with my least favorite doctor, the one who tries to make what he thinks are witty jokes, which are really just insulting and creepy, and who was chomping on a sandwich (really) the last time I consulted with him. But I needed an early appointment because of work, and he was open, so he it shall be. I keep telling myself that I don’t have to react to him: let him be an asshole, what do I care. I don’t know what RBA will recommend if my lining is not thick enough to go forward—I haven’t asked, perhaps am in denial that this could even happen—but I will definitely have some outrageously uncomfortable adjusting to do if I have to change any dates, at this point. I had to apply for Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) time off, and it had to be done ahead of time, and I did buy a plane ticket already. But of course, more than any of these things, I want to go forward because I want to go forward. Because I am there, in my heart and mind, ready for this, ready for Atlanta, ready for transfer, for all of the scary phone calls and tests and results, and ready for baby.

Wish me luck. Mama needs an 8 or higher.

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Good luck with your lining check! Sending you 9-10mm vibes!!

    Reply
  2. Too funny, I am also an avid follower of all things EWCM. Glad to see you are too. So reliable. Good luck, thinking of you.

    Reply
    • Ha! Yes, honestly I’ve been a little fascinated with the stuff ever since I learned what it can tell us about what is going on in our bodies. I first learned about it from a hippie during college and never forgot. Thank you for thinking of me and wishing me luck!

      Reply
  3. Hope you passed the lining check with flying colors! And you know, mine was thin, but it did not delay my leaving for ATL. I just had to go back the morning we were to leave, to do a second check. They wanted to see a 7 or higher twice in a row, and that’s what I had. So I am hoping all went well, and you are packing your bags and getting ready!

    Reply

Leave a reply

