CD 1. Oh yes. CD 1.

Woke up this morning to the happy sight of CD1 in my underwear. “Oh,” I said as I sat on the toilet, staring dazedly down between my knees. “Oh!”

“What is it what is it? Are you okay?” came DH’s voice outside the closed door.

“I…started!”

All that worrying for nothing, ladies! I must have ovulated in my sleep on CD19, just as I usually do. That spotting must have been from the biopsy. RBA nurse thought my hormone levels showed I would most likely need to stay on the Lupron a week longer than expected (as it seemed I ovulated a week later) pushing the whole cycle forward a week. I was fine with that, actually—just depressed about staying on Lupron a week longer. But now I won’t have to. Now I am right on track!

Check this out:

August 30th: We’ll be in Atlanta, “giving specimen” and meeting Dr. S.  Fertilization will begin.

September 4th: This is when I will most likely have an embryo transferred into my uterus. (We’ve decided on 1, even if there is the option of 2). So that is approximately 3 weeks and 5 days from now. Not that I’m counting out the weeks and days repeatedly, or anything.

Getting a menstrual pad, I had the thought: This could be my last period for a really long time.

My hope is  buoyant, it is like helium balloon, it keeps bobbing to the surface of me.

Yay!

 

 

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Pennycamp

     /  August 13, 2013

    I’m late discovering this blog. I would have loved to talk to you a few months ago when you were deciding what to do. As a longtime fertility patient @ RBA, I also ended up going the donor route a couple if years ago. I now have twin toddlers who kick my ass on a daily basis – ha! – and I would do it all over in a heartbeat. If you have any thoughts/concerns/just want to discuss things, please contact me via my email. I can’t say enough good things about RBA!

    Reply
    • Oh, what a happy comment to find this morning—thank you for writing it. Twin toddlers!! Woah. This is getting real. It is also wonderfully reassuring to know you had such a good experience with RBA. That’s what I’ve heard from so many others. Where do you live—did you have to fly in Atlanta? Right now I am deciding between flying and driving (14 hours–breaking it up over 2 driving days each way). Did you rest a lot after your transfer, or did you just get back to work? Any Atlanta activities you’d recommend? Thanks again.

      Reply
  2. lisa

     /  August 13, 2013

    Wow…I am really happy and excited for you. What a great feeling and how quickly all the pain and struggle fades when you have so much hope and happiness ahead. Enjoy the feeling.

    Reply
  3. Congratulations! Isn’t it funny how we hate that period when it comes unwanted but get so excited when it comes and signals the start of things? I truly hope this is your last period for a very long time. I feel this way when I take my last birth control pill (WOO! Won’t see you for a good long time!) and when I get my Lupron period (in my protocol I start Lupron while on BCP, then a few days after BCP stops I get a nasty Lupron period which is my last period ever, hopefully). September 4th is SOON! SO exciting. Good luck to you as this whole thing is really set in motion! Wooooo!

    Reply
    • Thank you! Yes—it is so funny you say that about our different reactions to periods, I was just thinking about that, and how it’s a perfect demonstration of how what happens is secondary to our *reactions* to what happens! (Understandably in this case.) Thanks for the luck!

      Reply
  4. Yay, so excited for you! Now it really begins. Keep that hope up- they really know what they are doing and it shows, once you are there. As for ATL stuff, I had a great lunch at this place on “sample collection” day (the Sandy Springs one is near the clinic) if you are open to veggie food: http://www.cafesunflower.com/index.shtml I enjoyed the MLK Memorial Site/house tour, and I wanted to make it to the botanical gardens but ran out of time. We took a day trip to Athens, a charming college town a couple of hours away, and my husband dragged me to the World of Coke, which was actually a little fun despite my resistance. Oooh and definitely spend a day at the aquarium! Distracting myself really helped the week fly by.

    Reply
  5. Freiburg

     /  August 14, 2013

    Congratulations on starting your cycle, I am so excited for you! Start the count down, you will be in Atlanta VERY soon!

    Reply
  6. I just stumbled across your blog, but I couldn’t leave without saying RBA is my clinic and I see Dr. S too! Wishing you all the best on your upcoming transfer!!!

    Reply
    • Oh, thank you! I’ll check out your blog!

      Reply
      • Sad, I just noticed that you see Dr. Shapiro; I see Dr. Slayden… didn’t cross my mind that there are multiple Dr. S’s at RBA. : ) But I’ve heard great things about Dr. Shapiro! I’m sure you are in EXCELLENT hands!

        Reply
  7. S

     /  August 16, 2013

    I live in Atlanta and would love to give you some tips for your time here. Feel free to email me. :)

    Reply

Leave a reply

