I just realized: We’re all mothering one another

I was knocked down breathless in therapy tonight when my wise, present, affectionate, incisive, gifted therapist said to me: “You say you aren’t a mother, but that’s not what I hear. I hear that you are mothering this project, The Unexpected Trip. You are mothering your readers.”

“And they are mothering me,” I said, tears springing to my eyes.

I have never met you in person, I don’t know what you look like, what you sound like, where you live. But I know you. And you know me. I am so grateful for you. I want to thank you for allowing me to express my true nature—my nurturing, motherly nature—to you, and for giving all of that mothering back to me and then some. How remarkable to be knitted together with you through this experience.

“Don’t diminish your experience, your path,” my therapist said. “Don’t denigrate it, disqualify it. You say you don’t have a baby, but I’m not sure if that’s true—you have literally birthed this blog.”

We talked about all of the “babies” in my life, all of the ways I mother, and when I arrived at home, I immediately wanted to channel these words to you. I have said these sorts of things before, but it is different when I experience the words in therapy on a cellular level. So here it is. I hope it brings you a little bit of peace, some laughter in recognition, and the feeling of not being alone.

Y’all are mothers! Every one of you!

Here are just a few of you. More to come. And I’m adding a page/sidebar for you, too.

And do let me know if you have recommendations for other donor egg blogs.

A Chick and Eggs

A Crack in Everything

All in One Basket

Baby on Mind

Beloved Burnt Toast

Chronicling my journey with infertility

Donor Diva: Mother Via Egg Donation

Hard Boiled: A Donor Egg Blog

Hope Is Something You Pee On…

Hopefully…

Lamenting the Lentil

Love, Marriage, Baby. Right?

MoJo Working

No Good Eggs

Rainbeforerainbow

Ready For My Turn

Something Happened on the Way to Baby

Stirrup Queens

The Mama’s Rapscallion

The Maybe Baby (Babies)

Trying to get pregnant by IVF after 40

WAY Too Much Information. Come On, It Won’t Kill You…

Yeah, Science!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. This is such a lovely, lovely thought. Makes me feel all warm inside. Thanks for sharing it with us, friend. :)

    Reply
  2. Love! :)

    Reply
  3. Very lovely indeed!
    And thanks for the shout out! ;)

    Reply
  4. newtoivf

     /  April 16, 2013

    I totally feel like a mother and I’ve never even been pregnant….yet?!!! (fx)

    Reply

Leave a reply

