Becoming a recipient at RBA

Here is the process of becoming a recipient at RBA, from A to Z:

1. Select a physician.

We’ve selected Dr. Shapiro, the clinical manager of the frozen egg bank program.

2. Complete patient registration forms.

Did so on Sunday, online. Pretty quick process, involving uploading photos of ourselves.

3. An Administrative Assistant will contact you to schedule a telephone consult with the doctor.

They say this will take 24 hours—it didn’t. No one called me. I had to contact RBA yesterday when I was home to spur the process. Hmm. In any case, I scheduled the appointment for April 30th.

4. Pre-cycle screening requirements: They suggest that I do these before the phone consult.

I am mailing Dr. Shapiro’s assistant all of my tests so she can tell me what I need to have done. There is something called a “Profile with $500 deposit” included in the screening requirements–I’m not sure what this is.

4a. See a psychologist who is certified in counseling in third-party reproduction.

5. Phone consult with Dr. Shaprio: Discussion of pre-cycle screens, meds, process of donor screening, consents, stats, and my questions.

6. Financial Consult.

I believe this is just a discussion of the fees associated with the egg bank. (I’m assuming that if we go with the guarantee program, the 30K is not due until we have access to the egg bank and can select a donor—at least I hope so!)

7. The Egg Donor Program will review my chart.

8. 24 – 48 hours later, I will receive access to the egg bank online. 

9. Donor selection.

There are currently 56 donors in the egg bank, but the number generally fluctuates up and down. I will receive 22 pages of information about each donor, including childhood photos. The nurses will compare my adult photo to the donor’s adult photo and let me know the previous pregnancy outcomes of the donor (not sure if they will tell me if she has kids, but I’m assuming so).

I submit my choice(s) via the EDP website. Within 24 hours, a nurse will contact me to confirm availability.

10. I fax or email a Recipient Acknowledgment Consent  back to the EDP. (I’m assuming that this is when I pay the 30K?)

11. I start medications.

12. I do a 15 minute phone consultation with a genetic counselor about the donor’s genetics. 

13. I arrive in Atlanta around approx. CD 13 to meet with Dr. Shapiro. 

14. CD 16: Eggs are thawed. We do a Day 3 or Day 5 transfer. Total time in Atlanta approx 4 – 6 days.

 

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Sounds do-able! At what point do you ‘commit?’ For me, teh hardest part of the process above was actually picking a donor. Thank god I was in therapy. It made it so much more real. And I was obsessed with making the ‘right’ choice – as if there was one. 56 is a good number to choose from. I did not limit myself and looked at donors from every major agency in teh country, including 8 in Illinois alone. I must have looked at 10,000 pictures. This is not healthy. My advice is to ask someone who is familiar with the donor profiles to look at your picture an criteria, and chose the 5 ish they think would be best for you. This allows you to hear an unbiased perspective of who you look like. And then limit the hours or days you can spend making a decision. Or you may go nuts like me – I was up till 1am every day for 2 weeks. I should have been institutionalized

    Reply
    • oops–i somehow missed this comment. thank you for this advice! i may be asking for more as the scary donor selection process approaches. every time i think of it, i get this fluttery sensation in my gut that say “hey, do you really want to do this?” i am hoping i can get zen about it.

      Reply

Leave a reply

