Happy Valentine’s Day, Dr. Schoolcraft!

Yes, tonight is our phone regroup with Dr. S…and I don’t really care!

Well, I do. Yes. I know this is important. I know I’ve paid for this. I know his opinion will have some effect on our decision-making. But the truth is, my heart and mind are elsewhere. I am in rejuvenation mode, and talking to Dr. S is not tickling my interest in the least.

But I have jotted down a few questions:

Embryo grades: What were they? Just curious. 

Another IVF cycle: We can’t do it, financially, but am curious: Would you even recommend another IVF cycle?

Lead follicle: Do you think we lost it (I do) ? Does that even matter? A nurse mentioned that the lead follicle is “usually a good one”–do you concur? Did we lose our best shot?

Chromosomal abnormalities: After our CCS results, we can say that this is definitely the problem, right? Or is it possible that there are still other factors involved?

Wheat allergy: I have a moderate wheat allergy. I’ve read things about Celiac’s, or even wheat/gluten sensitivity, having an impact on pregnancy. But can it have an impact on egg quality? Can it have an impact on an egg’s ability to successfully undergo meiosis?

Meiosis: This is the problem, correct–my eggs are not undergoing meiosis properly? If we decide to try naturally (see question below re: sagacity/insanity), is there anything you recommend I do to promote healthy meiosis?

Donor eggs: Do you recommend this as the next step?

CCRM and donor eggs: What is CCRM’s donor egg process? Do you transfer on Day 3 or Day 5?

Other clinics and donor eggs: What should we look for in other clinics for a DE cycle–what should we be sure to ask?

Vitrification:  It seems important that the clinic freeze the embryos using the latest technology. What question should I ask about this?

Trying naturally: Totally unwise and/or insane?

Embryo adoption/donation: Any thoughts about this?

I’ve been really valuing your input, my readers, so I want to put out there that if there is anything you think I should consider asking Dr. S, I’d love to hear it.

 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Christa

     /  February 17, 2013

    Hoping your regroup went well and interested to know Schoolcraft’s responses. Also hope you are doing well too. :)

    Reply
  2. Moxie

     /  February 20, 2013

    Hello,
    I found your blog in January, when my husband and I decided to go to CCRM for our second IVF. Your story touched me and your posts are very well written. I’ve cheered you on, sympathized with you, and felt your heartache.
    2013 marks our third year of TTC. I’ve had two miscarriages, one failed IUI and one failed IVF. Our retrieval is scheduled for April at CCRM. If we are not successful we’d move onto DE/DS or adoption.
    I hope Dr. Schoolcraft answered all of your questions, I look forward to hearing his response. Everything you talk about from the wrong things people say, to friends getting pregnant, to little things causing you to cry, please know-I feel you. I appreciate your blog and continue to wish you good fortune.

    Reply
    • Wow—retrieval in April, good luck to you. And I am glad to hear you found me, and that anything I’ve written has helped you. I feel you out there, cheering me on, sympathizing with me, I really do! Thank you deeply for that. I hope to hear updates from you about how things go for you. And I’m going to get on that Dr. Schoolcraft regroup post in the next few days—it always bothers me when I don’t keep up-to-date on the blog. Somehow, just the simple act of writing it and sharing it with you all helps me move on to the next step—and that’s pretty powerful.

      Reply

Leave a reply

